Chris Mars

06OpenBoxHow do you approach to the job?

I paint nearly every day, probably 50 or 60 hours a week.  I’m a night owl, so I generally start after dinner and work until near morning.  I work straight through on a single painting, I don’t work on multiple paintings simultaneously.  I also make films, and I work on these in the time between finishing one painting, and beginning a new one.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? If not, what do you do?

If I take it to finish and share it, it means I am satisfied with the result.  Of course, there are some works I prefer to others, though my particular favorites tend to change over time.

Where do you find the inspiration?

Nature, joy, misery, my feelings and the imagined feelings of others, current events, my family, love, conflict, a want to protect, a want to expose or make known, peace, firelight, autumn, memories of my childhood, hope, mercy, a empathy for the outsider, my mood, colors and textures.

Seeing at the world or is just something  inside of you?

05RecklessConspiratorsBoth.  I feel the world outside of me, and put it through my own filter inside of me.  Then I listen to the surface of the canvas before me.  I don’t sketch, I just go.  I like to create spontaneously.

What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?

I like expressionism and surrealism, but I don’t know that I am specifically influenced by other works of art.  I am also a great fan of cinema.  There are many painters I admire including Beksinski, Dix, Bosch, Giger, Rembrandt, Monet, and many of my contemporaries – Laurie Lipton, Mark Ryden, Todd Schorr, Eric White, Daniel Martin Diaz, to name a very few.  I love films by Park Chan-Wook, Todd Solandz, Spike Lee, Guillermo del Toro, Neil Jordan…and many, many others.

What’s your hobby?

I like sports – baseball and basketball especially.  I love going to the movies.  I love hanging around with my wife and our four dogs.  And I like visiting small, interesting restaurants.

www.chrismarspublishing.com

TRADUZIONE

01PreludeToTheTestTubeVarietyCome ti approcci al lavoro ?

Dipingo quasi ogni giorno, probabilmente 50 o 60 ore a settimana. Sono un nottambulo, per cui in genere mi ci metto dopo cena e lavoro fino a fare quasi mattina. Io lavoro a dtritto su un singolo dipinto,  non lavoro su più tele contemporaneamente. Faccio anche film e mi occupo di questo nel tempo che intercorre tra la fine di un dipinto e l’inizio di uno nuovo.

Sei sempre soddisfatto del risultato finale? Se no, che cosa fai?

Se lo  termino e lo condivido, vuol dire che sono soddisfatto del risultato. Naturalmente, ci sono alcune opere che preferisco ad altre, anche se i miei preferiti in particolare tendono a cambiare nel tempo .

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

La natura, la gioia, la miseria, i miei sentimenti e le sensazioni immaginate altrui, attualità, la mia famiglia, amore, conflitto, una da proteggere, una voglia di esporre o di far conoscere, la pace, la luce del fuoco, l’autunno, i ricordi della mia infanzia, la speranza, la misericordia, una empatia per l’outsider, il mio umore, colori e texture .

Vedendo il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

04Level5Entrambi. Sento il mondo al di fuori di me, e lo metto nel mio filtro dentro di me. Poi sento la superficie della tela di fronte me. Non faccio sketch, mi basta andare. Mi piace creare spontaneamente.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

Mi piacciono l’espressionismo e il surrealismo, ma non so se sono specificamente influenzato da altre opere d’arte. Sono anche un grande appassionato di cinema. Ci sono molti pittori che ammiro compresi Beksinski, Dix, Bosch, Giger, Rembrandt, Monet, e molti dei miei coetanei – Laurie Lipton, Mark Ryden, Todd Schorr, Eric White, Daniel Martin Diaz, solo per citarne alcuni. Amo i film di Park Chan – Wook, Todd Solandz, Spike Lee, Guillermo del Toro, Neil Jordan … e molti, molti altri .

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Mi piace lo sport, il baseball e il basket in particolare. Mi piace andare al cinema. Amoamdare  in giro con mia moglie ed i nostri quattro cani. E mi piace visitare piccoli ristoranti interessanti.

Rispondi

