Karrie Arthurs

photo 3How do you approach to the job?
Drawings for me evolve with a thought; it can be as simple as a word or phrase I am attracted too, and object I like, a sound I hear. Because I primarily work on antique paper I collect it and will find an appropriate piece to use for the drawing I want to make.
Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?
I am very methodical about my process and will have the complete image in my mind before I begin on any piece. I am never spontaneous about where a shape is drawn or a line is placed. The trick is to repeat the vision in my mind. I think this way I am fairly satisfied with the outcome. Though I do always see room for improvement and better translation. I always want to do better.
Where do you find the inspiration?
I find inspiration in my life. From the antique objects I collect, the music in the house, my interactions with my children to religious iconography, sacred animals and symbols.
Seeing at the world or is just something  inside of you?
The inspiration comes from within and my interaction with the rest of the world.
What are your artistic preferences and and how do they influence you?
I am influenced by the work of Albrecht Dürer, especially his woodcuts. There are lots of contemporary artists that inspire me such as Tom Haubrick. I am inspired by etching, letterpress, printmaking, old paper….
What’s your hobby?
Cooking, bike rides, adventuring with my kids.
photo 4Come ri approcci lavoro?
I disegni per me si evolvono con un pensiero, può essere semplice come una parola o una frase che mi attrae molto, un oggetto che mi piace, un suono che sento. Perché io lavoro principalmente su carta antica che raccolgo e troverò un pezzo appropriato da utilizzare per il disegno che voglio fare.
Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? Se no, che cosa fai?
Sono molto metodica nel mio processo ed ho l’immagine completa nella mia mente prima di iniziare qualsiasi pezzo. Io non sono mai spontanea su come la forma è disegnata o su dove una linea è collocata. Il trucco è quello di ripetere la visione che ho nella mente. Penso in questo modo di essere abbastanza soddisfatta del risultato. Sebbene io veda sempre spazio per migliorare e trasporre in maniera migliore. Ho sempre voglia di fare meglio.
Dove trovi l’ispirazione?
Trovo ispirazione nella mia vita. Dagli oggetti di antiquariato che raccolgo, la musica in casa, le interazioni con i miei figli e l’iconografia religiosa, animali sacri e simboli.
Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?
L’ispirazione viene da dentro e dalla mia interazione con il resto del mondo.
Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?
Sono influenzata dal lavoro di Albrecht Dürer, soprattutto le sue xilografie. Ci sono un sacco di artisti contemporanei che mi ispirano, come Tom Haubrick. Sono ispirata dall’incisione, stampa tipografica, stampa di lettere antiche, carta antica …
Qual è il tuo hobby?
Cucinare, passeggiare in bicicletta, avventurarmi con i miei figli.

Rispondi

