David Ball

154848_10151611105955116_1770338620_nHow do you approach to the job?

I try to stay focused on improvement and not worry much about anything else otherwise, I’d devour myself with attention to unimportant things. I think it best to approach art as art- not a job or a legacy or a chore. It should, in my eyes, be a timeless state if at all possible. I start out with a general feeling and then let things evolve from there. I usually start abstractly just to give myself something with which to react. Marking the surface immediately lets me feel less precious about the image. It sullies the panel and gets things started. I do not like to have a planned concept unless I am making illustration. As an illustrator, I got tired long ago of knowing the outcome of a piece before getting started. This gives me a place where I can operate based more on intuition and feeling rather than logic. From then on, it is a lot of building and polishing.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

Some pieces are finished pieces, some are studies. If I call it a finish, I am generally fully happy with it. It is a study when I have satisfied the design and structural concerns but have not tweaked it as much. I don’t keep botched pieces. If I don’t like something, I either rework it or paint it out and start over. That or prime it for a new piece.

Where do you find the inspiration?

Shapes excite me. That is a big part of what excites me about a composition- what shapes are being formed, its balance, its movement. I tend to like the eye to be woven about the image surface.

857643_10151641475705116_1487024976_oSeeing at the world or is just something  inside of you?

My art still has a relationship to my real world- the things that I emotionally like, those I don’t, and the general perceptive experience of life unfolding. I have had the work called a form of escapism but it never really seems to escape anything. I’d say it is more disguise than escape. It is still connected to the real world but as self indulgent reinterpretation.

What are your artistic preferences and and how do they influence you?

Romanticism and Expressionism are big influences. I am interested in conveying sensation and engaging empathy in the viewer and both these movements explored the subjective, emotions of the artist. I like a variety of work but there is a distinct difference between what I like in another’s work and what I do in my work. It is easiest to say that I like a lot of stuff. The list would be so long and random, it hardly seems worth mentioning. Inspiration can come from just about anywhere, sometimes it is other art. I am not of any one school of thought. In this way, my interests are eclectic.

One thing that remains influential is collage. I believe that there is a quality to collage, where the styles and shapes of the material inform the aesthetic decisions that you make with the work.

2025_10151611108625116_1229800219_nWhat’s your hobby?

I need one. It used to be swimming, now it is drinking with friends.

 

 

TRADUZIONE

 

 

Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Cerco di rimanere concentrato sul miglioramento e non preoccuparmi molto di qualsiasi altra cosa, in caso contrario, mi distraggo con cose poco importanti. Penso che sia meglio per avvicinarsi all’arte come arte, non un lavoro o un lavoro di routine. Si deve, ai miei occhi, entrare in uno stato senza tempo, se possibile. Comincio con una sensazione generale e poi lascio che le cose si evolvano da lì. Di solito inizio astrattamente tanto per darmi qualcosa che mi faccia reagire. La marcatura della superficie permette da subito di farmi sentire meno prezioso dell’immagine. Da il via alle cose. Non mi piace avere un preconcetto a meno che non stia facendo un’illustrazione. Come illustratore, mi sono stancato da tempo di conoscere l’esito di un 2050_10151577426835116_1647160753_npezzo prima di iniziare. Questo mi dà un posto dove posso operare basandomi più su intuizione e sensazione piuttosto che sulla logica. Da allora in poi, si tratta di un sacco di costruzione e lucidatura.

Sei sempre soddisfatto del risultato finale? se no, cosa fai?

Alcuni pezzi sono pezzi finiti, altri sono studi. Se dico che è finito, sono in genere pienamente soddisfatto. Si tratta di uno studio quando ho soddisfatto le preoccupazioni di progettazione e strutturali, ma non l’ho modificato più di tanto. Non tengo i pezzi raffazzonati. Se non mi piace qualcosa, o lo rielaboro o lo copro e ricomincio da capo. Per innescare un nuovo pezzo.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Le forme mi eccitano. Questa è una parte importante di ciò che mi entusiasma di una composizione, quali forme si creano, il loro equilibrio, il loro movimento. Presto attenzione a come l’occhio si muove sulla superficie dell’immagine.

Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

598950_10151663850905116_1120227_nLa mia arte ha ancora un rapporto col mio mondo reale, le cose che mi piacciono, quelle emotivamentemi piacciono e quelle che non, e l’esperienza percettiva generale della vita che si svolge. Tratto il lavoro come una forma di evasione, ma non mi sembra mai veramente di sfuggire a nulla. Direi che è più travestimento che  fuga. E ‘ancora legato al mondo reale, ma come autoreinterpretazione indulgente.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

Romanticismo ed espressionismo sono grandi influenze. Sono interessato a trasmettere sensazioni e coinvolgente empatia nello spettatore ed entrambi questi movimenti esplorato le soggettive emozioni dell’artista. Mi piacciono una varietà di lavori, ma non vi è una netta differenza tra quello che mi piace in un altro il lavoro e quello che faccio nel mio lavoro. E ‘più facile dire che mi piace un sacco di roba. L’elenco sarebbe così lungo e casuale, a quanto pare non vale la pena di menzionarli. L’ispirazione può venire da qualsiasi luogo, a volte è altra arte. Io non appartengo ad una specifica scuola di pensiero. In questo modo, i miei interessi sono eclettici.

Una cosa che rimane influente è il collage. Io credo che ci sia una qualità di collage, in cui gli stili e le forme del materiale informa le decisioni estetiche che si fanno con il lavoro.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Ho bisogno di uno. Per un po’ era il nuoto, ora bevo con gli amici.

Rispondi

