Shin-Young An

"Winds of Change"How do you approach to the job?

While reading the newspaper, articles began affecting me and I wake up with ideas in the morning with the story of the issues that have touched me. I combine those articles and cut the significant images and stories from the newspapers and then mount on canvas while thinking of composition. I collect headlines and photos least biased content from around the world; Not only do I use current news articles that have had an impact on me, but also I use actual newspapers about these historical events in order to preserve it for the future.

I believe printed newspapers will not exist in the future due to the rapidly developing technology. This is why I have created pieces with the title “Clicking,” “A Breaking News,” and “Enlarged Screen,” because that is what we do to learn about the news recently.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

I am always excited to start a new piece with a new idea, but I am not always satisfied with the final result. It’s hard to decide when I should stop sometimes. I just let it dry completely if it’s unsatisfied and then cover it with another piece of newspaper with the same article and repaint it. Some pieces took more than 2 years to complete by trial and errors.

"Winds of Change"Where do you find the inspiration?

I listen to the news through various English and Korean media like pod casts and Internet almost every day. I am interested in all kinds of visual art and comedy show if it’s based on reality to seek and find the truth through ordinary people’ life to translate that into my own vision of natural beauty.

One thing the hidden meaning of my art work is that I hope my art pieces can also make people comfort from awareness of true life like we all have personal agonies behind the happy face, like Chaplin, Charlie said”Life is a tragedy when seen in close-up, but a comedy in long-shot”.

Seeing at the world or is just something inside of you?

I consider myself powerless in a sense to seeing at world due to the fact that I cannot change or resolve problems practically through my talent. It’s a reality of life that I face and have accepted. I am unsure of what I can do for the future in order to reduce my feelings of guilt, but I am sure that I have learned greatly through my recent work processes. Without self-reflection, I cannot improve as an artist. I wanted this to be reflected in my work and hoped it positively affects to the society. We can survive till reality through learning from the past, and we can see and create the future through correcting the problems of the present. I believe the first step for solving any problems is to recognize the events that are affecting the world.

Women History_30x30What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?

I continued study intensively under the very two different style artists Harvey Dinnerstein who is an extreme realist and Kenneth Mclndoe who is very fauvist to find my unique style at the Art Students League of NY afterI received my M.F.A in painting from The Graduate School of Figurative Art of the New York Academy of Art in 2001. Through these disciplines, I am able to paint with variations and innovations of diversity.

During mastering figurative art, which included learning the human body from live models and old masters from history, which is the most fundamentally important skill needed to produce a good piece that I believe, I stayed at school all day, taking extra classes other than painting like art history, anatomy, perspective, portrait and sculpture classes. My portrait painting was influenced mostly by Patrick Connors, and I felt true freedom when I found the technical skill of painting through copying original master piece after studying Rembrandt at the Metropolitan Museum in the class of Edward Schmidt during my 2nd graduate school year in 2000. My recent work was influenced by Eric Fischl, who was my advisor for my diploma project. He never taught me any technique, but instead tried to find the root of my interest and my true identity through his humorous conversational skills.

Whenever I grow bored with my usual paintings, I reflect on how I could make things interesting since then.

peace_2_1_1What’s your hobby?

I usually had many hobbies like singing, dancing, watching movies and shows, making new friends, and more.

However, I get bored very easily, so I may not be happy if I cannot find something new with my activities, but, this job has never bored me. It is a matter of time.

Thank you.

ShinYoung

www.ShinYoungAn.com

Invitation _Winds of Change_

_Winds of Change_

TRADUZIONE

Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Durante la lettura del giornale, gli articoli che leggo mi  interessano e mi sveglio con le idee al mattino riguardanti le storie dei problemi che mi hanno toccato. Combino questi articoli e taglio le immagini significative e le storie dei giornali e poi li monto su tela pensando ad una composizione. Sono una collezionista di titoli e di foto e contenuti almeno parziali da tutto il mondo, peace by war_1posso usare non solo gli articoli di notizie attuali, che hanno avuto un impatto su di me, ma anche giornali reali su eventi storici, al fine di preservarli per il futuro.

Credo che i giornali stampati non esisteranno più in futuro, grazie alla tecnologia in rapido sviluppo. È per questo che ho creato pezzi con il titolo “clic”, “a Breaking News,” e “Enlarged Screen“, perché questo è quello che facciamo per conoscere le novità di recente.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? Se no, cosa fai?

Sono sempre entusiasta di iniziare un nuovo lavoro con una nuova idea, ma non sono sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale. E ‘difficile decidere quando dovrei smettere, a volte. Lascio asciugare completamente se sono insoddisfatta e poi copro con un altro pezzo di giornale con lo stesso articolo e ridipingo su di esso. Per alcuni pezzi ci sono voluti più di 2 anni per completarli con tentativi ed errori.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Ascolto le notizie attraverso i vari mezzi di comunicazione in lingua inglese e coreana come podcast e Internet quasi tutti i giorni. Sono interessata a tutti i tipi di arti visive e spettacolo comico se si basa sulla realtà per cercare e trovare la verità attraverso la vita della gente ordinaria e tradurre nella mia visione le bellezze naturali.

Un significato nascosto del mio lavoro d’artista è che spero che le mie opere  possano anche portare conforto alle persone nella vera vita, tutti noi abbiamo "Winds of Change"tormenti personali dietro la faccia felice, come Chaplin, Charlie ha detto: “La vita è una tragedia quando vista in primo piano, ma è una commedia in campo lungo “.

Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

Mi considero impotente in un certo senso nel vedere il mondo a causa del fatto che non è possibile modificare o risolvere i problemi in maniera pratica attraverso il mio talento. Si tratta di una realtà che mi trovo di fronte e ho accettato. Io sono sicura di quello che posso fare per il futuro, al fine di ridurre i miei sensi di colpa, ma sono anche sicura di aver imparato molto attraverso i miei processi di lavoro recenti. Senza auto-riflessione, non posso migliorare come artista. Volevo che questo si riflettesse nel mio lavoro e spero che influisca positivamente sulla società. Siamo in grado di sopravvivere alla realtà attraverso l’imparare dal passato, e siamo in grado di vedere e creare il futuro attraverso la correzione dei problemi del presente. Credo che il primo passo per risolvere tutti i problemi sia quello di riconoscere gli eventi che stanno interessando il mondo.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

Ho studiato molto intensamente seguendo lo stile dei due differenti artisti Harvey Dinnerstein che è un estremo realista e Kenneth Mclndoe che è molto “fauve” per trovare il mio stile unico alla Art Students League di New York. Dopo ho ricevuto il MFA in pittura presso la Graduate School of Art Arte figurativa della New York Academy of Art nel 2001. Attraverso queste discipline, sono in grado di dipingere con le variazioni e le innovazioni della diversità.

"Winds of Change"Durante il master in arte figurativa, che comprendeva l’apprendimento del corpo umano da modelli vivi e dai maestri antichi della storia, che è la capacità di fondamentale importanza necessaria per produrre un buon pezzo credo, ho soggiornato a scuola tutto il giorno, prendendo lezioni extra dal dipingere come la storia dell’arte, anatomia, prospettiva, ritratto e scultura. La mia pittura, il ritratto, è stato influenzato soprattutto da Patrick Connors, e ho sentito la vera libertà quando ho trovato l’abilità tecnica della pittura attraverso la copia dall’originale dopo aver studiato Rembrandt al Metropolitan Museum nella classe di Edward Schmidt durante il mio 2 ° anno scuola di specializzazione nel 2000. Il mio recente lavoro è stato influenzato da Eric Fischl, che era il mio consulente per il mio progetto di diploma. Non mi ha mai insegnato una tecnica, ma ha cercato di trovare la radice del mio interesse e la mia vera identità attraverso le sue capacità umoristiche di conversazione.

Ogni volta che mi annoio con i miei soliti quadri, rifletto su come avrei potuto rendere le cose più interessanti.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Io di solito ho molti hobby come cantare, ballare, guardare film e spettacoli, fare nuove amicizie, e altro ancora.

Tuttavia, mi annoio molto facilmente, quindi non posso essere felice se non riesco a trovare qualcosa di nuovo con le mie attività, ma questo lavoro non mi ha mai annoiato. È una questione di tempo.

Grazie.

Shin Young

Rispondi

