Ishibashi Yui

sculpture-3How do you approach to the job?

I produce mostly three-dimensional works, trying various materials and techniques on my own since I did not get an academic education in sculpture but in painting. So I paint pictures sometimes, which helps me generate images for three-dimensional products.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? If not, what do you do?

I have never been 100% satisfied with my works. More often than not I notice something that needs improvement, and apply that lesson to subsequent ones, which leads to a better job but still little satisfaction. Probably that sense of continuous dissatisfaction is the reason behind my fight.

Where do you find the inspiration?

Plants are popular motifs for my art works. Curious plants found in nature inspire me with new designs and pictures. Besides, works of other artists or even TV shows may encourage me to venture something I haven’t tried before. Fresh ideas may occur to me when I am about to go asleep or just in my dreams.

Seeing at the world or is it just something inside of you?

I may be a rather instrospective person. Since my childhood I have been attracted to the concepts of death, sexuality and religion, and that is reflected in my works today. My internal emotion may contain many sculpture-2things universal to all the people. And my desire to clarify such feelings of mine has led me to the artistic activities.

What are your artistic preferences and and how do they influence you?

I have especially been fond of surrealistic works and magic realism. When it comes to Japanese traditional art, I like the “derori” style of deformed vulgar beauty. Balthus, Henri Rousseau, Hans Bellmer and Japanese woodblock prints of the latter 1880’s are my favorites. Talking about Bellmer, I prefer his drawings and photos to his magical dolls. I like also Asian religious paintings and photo books. But I do not so much intend to have them reflected to my own works. Without any intention, I believe, their influence would appear in my works once I have absorbed something from them.

What’s your hobby?

Oh, I like passing the time reading manga (Japanese comic strips story books) or in relaxation in the bathtub or in bed. But please don’t take me for a lazy girl. More than anything, I like chatting with congenial friends over a glass of wine.

http://ishibashi-yui.6.ql.bz/

TRADUZIONE

sculpture-1Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Produco per lo più opere tridimensionali, cercando  vari materiali e tecniche per conto mio in quanto non ho avuto una formazione accademica in scultura, ma in pittura. Così dipingo quadri a volte, che mi aiuta a generare immagini tridimensionali per i prodotti.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? Se no, cosa fai?

Non sono mai soddisfatta al 100% dei miei lavori. Il più delle volte noto una cosa che deve essere migliorata, e applico la lezione a quelli successivi, il che porta a un lavoro migliore, ma ancora poca soddisfazione. Probabilmente quel senso di insoddisfazione continua ed è la ragione che sta dietro la mia battaglia.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Le piante sono motivi popolari per le mie opere d’arte. Piante curiose che si trovano in natura mi ispirano con nuovi disegni e foto. Inoltre, opere di altri artisti o anche spettacoli televisivi possono incoraggiarmi ad avventurarmi in qualcosa che non ho provato prima. Idee fresche possono verificarsi quando sto per andare a dormire o solo nei miei sogni.

Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

Posso essere una persona piuttosto instrospettiva. Fin dalla mia infanzia sono stata attratta dai concetti di morte, sessualità e religione, e si riflette nei miei lavori oggi. La mia emozione interna può contenere molte cose universali a tutte le persone. E il mio desiderio di chiarire tali sentimenti dei miei mi ha portato alle attività artistiche.

sculptureQuali sono le vostre tue artistiche e come tiinfluenzano?

Sono in particolare appassionata di opere surreali e realismo magico. Quando si tratta di arte tradizionale giapponese, mi piace lo stile “derori” della bellezza deformata e volgare. Balthus, Henri Rousseau, Hans Bellmer e xilografie giapponesi dell’ultimo 1880 sono i miei preferiti. Parlando di Bellmer, preferisco i suoi disegni e le foto alle sue bambole magiche. Mi piacciono anche dipinti asiatici religiosi e libri fotografici. Ma non tanto l’intenzione di provvedere alla loro riflesso ai miei lavori. Senza alcuna intenzione, credo, la loro influenza appare nelle mie opere una volta che ho assorbito qualcosa da loro.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Oh, mi piace passare il tempo a leggere manga o in pieno relax nella vasca da bagno o nel letto. Ma per favore non mi prendere per una ragazza pigra. Più che altro, mi piace chattare con gli amici congeniali con un bicchiere di vino.

http://ishibashi-yui.6.ql.bz/

Rispondi

