Virginie Ropars

mothraHow do you approach to the job?
I start working on something when the picture is clear in my mind, I don’t let the things flew too much. I always start with the head, it gives the character soul I will follow with the rest of the work, and also the size of the finished doll. Then I work a very long time on the structure and position, it’s very important, but it’s not really funny. My dolls have removable parts now and so the structure have to be even more precisely done. Then I do the outer body, then the clothes. To me they are like illustrations, I try to imagine them as an illustrator would do with subject/color/composition and intent. Even if I rarely have a clear subject with a story to tell, I always try to stay focus on the a general composition, that would match my other choices of colors and general mood.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

I don’t mind really, when a work is done it’s over, the next to come become my main interest, so if a work is not as good as I wished, I keep that in mind and work on something else, I don’t feel it’s good idea to work and work again on something you’ve have missed or get wrong from the very start, it’s usually at the original idea that you’ve been missing something or misleaded.

Where do you find the inspiration? + Seeing at the world or is just something inside of you? + What are your artistic ACANTHOPHIS IIIpreferences and and how do they influence you?

It’s pretty wide, I’m always under some kind of influences or inspirations, depending on what I read, what I’ve done, seen in my everyday life. Visit a museum, some kind of detail in a book or a movie, nature, an insect I’ve seen on a wall outside during a walk, a piece of fabric … all that can give me a spark to start with the idea of a doll. Like a lot of people I do have that little computer program always running in the back of my brain. I do have recurrent inspirations of course, like some art movement, Art Nouveau, Symbolism… I couldn’t do a list of artists, it would be too long, but Mucha, Mossa, Rackham, Dulac, Delville is a good start…. Special effects in movies, some illustarors work, some of my friends works influence me too… and most of all books. I can hardly put a name on my inspirations when I work on something, it’s more a big mixture of a bunch of different things I may not be aware of.

What’s your hobby?
well spend good time with people I love is my hobby and I spend most of my time reading when I don’t work.

TRADUZIONE———————————————–

JACKCome ti approcci al lavoro?
Comincio a lavorare su qualcosa, quando il quadro è chiaro nella mia mente, non lascio che le cose volino troppo. Comincio sempre con la testa, dà l’anima al personaggio ed il resto del lavoro seguirà, e darà anche la dimensione della bambola finita. Poi lavoro molto tempo sulla struttura e la posizione, è molto importante, ma non molto divertente. Le mie bambole hanno parti removibili e quindi la struttura deve essere ancora più precisa. Poi faccio il corpo esterno, quindi i vestiti. Per me sono come illustrazioni, cerco di immaginarle come un illustratore farebbe con soggetto / colore / composizione ed intenti. Anche se raramente è un soggetto chiaro con una storia da raccontare, cerco sempre di fare attenzione alla composizione generale, che avrebbe rispecchiato le mie altre scelte di colori e l’umore generale.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? Se no, cosa fai?

Non ci penso davvero, quando un lavoro è fatto è finita, il prossimo lavoro diventa il mio interesse principale, quindi se un lavoro non è buono come avrei voluto, lo tengo a mente e lavoro su qualcos’altro, non credo sia una buona idea lavorare di nuovo su qualcosa che hai perso o frainteso fin dall’inizio, di solito è l’idea originale quella in cui viene perso qualcosa o fraintesa.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione? + Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te? + Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

LE DIABLEE ‘piuttosto complesso, io sono sempre sotto un qualche tipo di influenza o ispirazione, a seconda di quello che ho letto, quello che ho fatto, visto nella mia vita di tutti i giorni. Visitare un museo, un qualche tipo di dettaglio in un libro o un film, la natura, un insetto che ho visto su un muro fuori durante una passeggiata, un pezzo di stoffa … tutto ciò che mi può dare una scintilla per iniziare con l’idea di una bambola. Come un sacco di persone che ho quel “programmino” sempre in esecuzione nella parte posteriore del mio cervello. Io ho ispirazioni ricorrenti, naturalmente, come un movimento artistico, in stile Liberty, Simbolismo … Non posso fare un elenco di artisti, sarebbe troppo lungo, ma Mucha, Mossa, Rackham, Dulac, Delville è un buon inizio …. Gli effetti speciali nei film, un po ‘di lavoro di illustarori, alcuni dei lavori dei miei amici mi influenzano molto … e più di tutti i libri. Riesco a malapena a mettere un nome sulle mie ispirazioni quando lavoro su qualcosa, è più una grande miscela di un sacco di cose diverse che non sempre riconosco.

Qual è il tuo hobby?
Spendere tempo con le persone che amo è il mio hobby e passo la maggior parte del mio tempo a leggere quando non lavoro.

3 thoughts on “Virginie Ropars

  1. Pingback: Esther Verschoor | TAZ - The ArtZine

Rispondi

