Jezabel Nekranea

Caterpillar_by_Nekranea_and_Felideus_view01How do you approach to the job?

My job is a passion, but it’s also an obsession for me, so my mind never stop working, not even when I’m sleeping. Some ideas are in my mind growing up and transforming for a long time before I get a clear image in my head and start working on it. Another times the image just appears in my head or shows up in a dream.

When I work in a commission, I hear the client’s ideas and I take some time for thinking about it. Sometimes I do some sketches to help my mind to visualize a clear image of the final work. When we both are happy with the idea, I start working on it.

When the work is an illustration or a painting, usually I need doing some sketches and some research, looking for references. When the work is an sculpture or a doll, I work in a more intuitive way, usually I don’t need any references or previous studies. When I’m sculpting I’m totally focused and relaxed, not thinking about it as a job.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

I never finish a work until I feel satisfied with the result. Sometimes I feel satisfied in all the stages of the process, but sometimes I feel that something is wrong, or not so good as I had imagined, or just feel that something is missing. I’m very perfectionist so usually I get obsessed until I find the way to fix the problem and be able to feeling satisfied and happy again… I love that moment!.

Where do you find the inspiration?

I find inspiration in everything all the time, nature, art, music, feelings, experiences, dreams, objects… I don’t need to looking for it, it’s everywhere.

Spirit_of_the_Trees_by_NekraneaSeeing at the world or is just something inside of you?

I guess is a mix of both, my way to express my own perception of the world. Sometimes I’m sculpting and those little creatures just appear, as if they came from another place that I don’t know… I wonder where they came from.

What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?

I enjoy all kind of Art, I love classic art from Gothic and Renaissance periods, illuminated manuscripts, Baroque sculptures, Pre-Raphaelites, Symbolism, Art Nouveau… but I also love Pop Surrealism, Art Dolls and Art Toys, animation, stop-motion, automatons, decorative arts… a lot of different arts and styles influenced me in different stages of my life, and everyday I discover new artists that still influence me. Also people like Jim Henson, Hayao Miyazaki and Georges Méliès are some of my big influences.

What’s your hobby?

Well, right now my hobby and my job are the same thing, I spend almost all of my time working on my art, learning about new materials and techniques, enjoying and discovering new artists… I have to admit that sometimes is a little unhealthy, I spend too much time indoors without sunlight.

nekranea_IkoriSpiritI also love listening music and watching movies. When my obsession for my work give me a break I love to spend some time into the woods, taking a walk, looking for animal bones, feathers, rocks and plants that I love to collect and use them in some of my works or sceneries to photograph my creatures. When the weather is not too bad I also love to take photos of my creatures into the woods, they look really happy

TRADUZIONE

Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Il mio lavoro è una passione, ma è anche un’ossessione per me, così la mia mente non smetto mai di lavorare, neanche quando dormo. Alcune idee nascono nella mia mente e si elaborano per un lungo periodo prima di ottenere un’immagine chiara nella mia testa e iniziare a lavorarci sopra. Altre volte l’immagine appare solo nella mia testa o si presenta in un sogno.

nekranea_lunariaWorldQuando lavoro per una commissione, sento le idee del cliente e prendo un po’ di tempo per pensarci. A volte faccio degli schizzi per aiutare la mia mente a visualizzare una immagine chiara del lavoro finale. Quando entrambi siamo soddisfatti  dell’idea, inizio a lavorarci.

Quando il lavoro è una illustrazione o un dipinto, di solito ho bisogno di fare alcuni schizzi e un po’ di ricerca, alla ricerca di riferimenti. Quando il lavoro è una scultura o una bambola, io lavoro in un modo più intuitivo, di solito non ho bisogno di tutti i riferimenti o studi precedenti. Quando scolpisco sono totalmente concentrata e rilassata, non ci penso come un lavoro.

Sei sempre soddisfatto del risultato finale? se no, cosa fai?

Non metto mai fine ad un lavoro se non sono soddisfatta del risultato. A volte mi sento soddisfatta in tutte le fasi del processo, ma a volte sento che qualcosa non va, o non è così buona come avevo immaginato, o semplicemente sento che manca qualcosa. Sono molto perfezionista per cui di solito vengo ossessionata dal trovare il modo per risolvere il problema ed essere in grado di sentirmi soddisfatta e felice di nekranea_Mdollnuovo … Mi piace quel momento!.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Trovo ispirazione in tutto per tutto il tempo, la natura, l’arte, la musica, i sentimenti, le esperienze, i sogni, gli oggetti … Non ho bisogno di cercarla, è ovunque.

Vedendo il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

Credo che sia un mix di entrambi, il mio modo di esprimere la mia percezione del mondo. A volte modello e quelle piccole creature appaiono, come se provenissero da un altro posto che non so … Mi chiedo da dove sono venuti.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

Bird_Soul_by_NekraneaMi piace ogni tipo di arte, amo l’arte classica del Gotico e del Rinascimento, codici miniati, sculture barocche, preraffaelliti, Simbolismo, Art Nouveau … ma amo anche il Pop Surrealism, Bambole e giocattoli d’arte, animazione, stop-motion, automi, arti decorative … un sacco di arti e stili diversi mi hanno influenzato in diverse fasi della mia vita, e ogni giorno scopro nuovi artisti che ancora mi influenzano. Anche le persone come Jim Henson, Hayao Miyazaki e Georges Méliès sono alcuni delle mie grandi influenze.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Beh, in questo momento il mio hobby e il mio lavoro sono la stessa cosa, passo quasi tutto il mio tempo a lavorare sulla mia arte, conoscere nuovi materiali e tecniche, godere e scoprire nuovi artisti … Devo ammettere che a volte è un po’ malsano, trascorro in casa troppo tempo senza luce del sole.

Mi piace anche ascoltare musica e guardare film. Quando la mia ossessione per il mio lavoro mi regala una pausa mi piace trascorrere del tempo nei boschi, fare una passeggiata, alla ricerca di ossa di animali, piume, pietre e piante che amo di raccogliere e utilizzarli in alcune delle mie opere o scenari di fotografare le mie creature. Quando il tempo non è male mi piace anche fotografare le mie creature nel bosco, sembrano davvero felici…

Rispondi

