Xue Wang

 How do you approach the job?

 I was a fashion designer before but never stopped doing painting and drawing since being a child.

 When I discovered that fashion design could no longer fulfill my creativity desire, I took the leap.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

Results are mainly varied. I’ve a butterfly mind when it comes to working on my paintings. Lots of work has been painted over. If I’m not happy with the result, it doesn’t leave the studio.

Where do you find the inspiration?

Could be anything: dream, a film, conversation with a friend, exhibitions, travelling, music… er… my husband sometimes comes out with wicked ideas!

Do use the objective world as a reference point or is it just something inside of you?

I guess seeing the world and accept the parts I love, reject the parts I dislike makes me who I am… So… both!

What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?

Artists like Frida Kahlo, Henry Dargar, Alfred Kubin and Mark Ryden. Film directors like Alfred Hitchcock, Federico Fellini and David Lynch. Style icons like Betty Page, Betty Boop and Lillian Gish. Film noir, Victoriana, toys, dolls and things I ‘adopted’ from junk shops and antique shops.

What’s your hobby?

I like collecting things. Vintage clothing and antique toys—my biggest passion! I also collect dry plant pods and stones from my travels. Painting nails for my friends, cooking and talking to my doggy too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

TRADUZIONE:

 

Come ti avvicini al lavoro?
Sono stata una designer di moda, ma non ho mai smesso di fare pittura e disegno da quando ero bambina. Quando ho scoperto che il design della moda non poteva più soddisfare il mio desiderio di creatività, ho preso il volo.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? Se no, cosa fai?
I risultati possono variare. Ho una mente “farfalla” quando si tratta di lavorare su i miei quadri. Sopra un sacco di lavori ci ho dipinto sopra. Se non sono soddisfatta del risultato, non lascia lo studio.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?
Potrebbe essere qualsiasi cosa: un sogno, un film, una conversazione con un amico, mostre, viaggi, musica … ehm … mio marito a volte viene fuori con idee perverse!

Guardando il mondo intorno o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?
Cerco di vedere il mondo ed accettarne le parti che amo, respingo le parti che non mi piacciono: questo fa di me quella che sono … Allora … entrambi!

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?
Artisti come Frida Kahlo, Henry Dargar, Alfred Kubin e Mark Ryden. Registi come Alfred Hitchcock, Federico Fellini e David Lynch. Icone di stile come Betty Page, Betty Boop e Lillian Gish. Film noir, l’epoca Vittoriana, giocattoli, bambole e cose che ‘adottatto’ da rigattieri e negozi di antiquariato.

Qual è il tuo hobby?
Mi piace raccogliere le cose. Abbigliamento vintage e antichi giocattoli, la mia più grande passione! Colleziono anche baccelli di piante secche e pietre dai miei viaggi. Dipingere le unghie per i miei amici, cucinare e parlare troppo al mio cagnolino.

 

https://www.facebook.com/xue.wang.129

http://xuewangart.blogspot.it/

Rispondi

