Jessica Joslin

How do you approach to the job?

When I started making art full time, I made myself a promise: to work as hard for myself as I had for others. Coming from a background of working in the trades, that means patience, discipline, and long hours spent honing one’s craft and developing new skills. Still, I can’t ever think of making art as a “job.” It doesn’t feel like work, it feels like play, like channeling magic. I love working with my hands, and I adore a good challenge. I’m been building my menagerie since 1992, so I’ve had quite awhile to add to my “bag of tricks.” I sometimes joke that my life’s work is designing the world’s most complex and filigreed Erector Set, creating an elaborate system of interchangeable components for creature-making.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

If I’m not satisfied, then it’s not finished yet. I don’t let anything leave the studio until I’m happy with it. Sometimes I’ll work on and off on a sculpture for years before it’s finished. I typically alternate between several pieces at any given time, so I can switch to a different piece if I hit a stopping point. It’s not unusual for a piece to end up completely different than what I initially intended. As I go along, they tell me what they need. Sometimes a ribcage that was made for a cat will end up in a bird, or a bird will turn into a dog along the way. It’s all part of the process, and I enjoy the occasional curve balls.

Where do you find the inspiration?

Animals are my muses, whether it is observing live animals, watching nature documentaries, or looking at photos and other artists’ representations of animals. I’m fascinated by seeing the way that things are put together. I spend a lot of time studying anatomy and admiring the intricacy and perfection of skeletal architecture. I also love to see the way that non-living things are built, particularly mechanisms from the 18th-19th century.

Seeing at the world or is just something  inside of you? 

Seeing a world inside of me, and building it so that others can see it too. 

What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you? 

 

It seems like every day I find more artists to be excited about. I’m always searching for new and wonderful things. Everything filters down into a simmering stew of imagery and may eventually be reconfigured to suit my world. Each instance is different, and each sculpture has it’s own story. For example, my hornbills Alonia & Almeria were inspired by my friend Chris Conn Askew’s painting La Croix Rouge. I desperately wanted to buy that piece, but it got away, so I decided to make a hornbill of my own as a sort of a keepsake. The red ribbon with a cameo in his painting was reconfigured into a mossy velvet ribbon with a brass lion emblem, which was given to me by another wonderfully inspiring artist, Kris Kuksi. I often find myself giving secret nods to artists who I admire, sometimes in the names of my creatures, like Gustav (Klimt), Helmut (Newton) or (Toulouse) Lautrec.

What’s your hobby?

Trying to mix the perfect Manhattan.

To see more work, please visit:

http://jessicajoslin.com/

TRADUZIONE

 

Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Quando ho iniziato a fare a tempo pieno l’artista, mi sono fatta una promessa: di lavorare duro per me come avevo fatto per gli altri. Provengo da un ambiente di lavoro nei traffici, che significa pazienza, disciplina, e lunghe ore trascorse affinando il proprio mestiere e sviluppare nuove competenze. Eppure, non posso mai pensare di fare arte come fosse un “lavoro.” Non  è come se lavorassi , sembra più un gioco, come fosse una magia. Mi piace lavorare con le mani, e io adoro le sfide. Sto costruendo il mio serraglio dal 1992, quindi ho avuto un bel po’ da aggiungere al mio “bagaglio di trucchi.” A volte scherzo dicendo che il lavoro della mia vita è progettare il set di costruzioni più complesso e filigranato del mondo, la creazione di un elaborato sistema di elementi intercambiabili per fare creature.
 

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? 

Se no, cosa fai?

Se non sono soddisfatta, allora, non è ancora finita. Non mi permetto di lasciare lo studio fino a che non sono soddisfatta del lavoro. A volte lavoro a tratti su una scultura per anni prima che sia finita. Io di solito mi alterno tra i vari pezzi in un dato momento, in modo da poter passare a un “pezzo” diverso se mi trovo bloccata. Non è insolito per un pezzo finito essere completamente diverso da quello che ho inizialmente previsto. Come vado avanti, mi dice di che cosa ha bisogno. A volte una cassa toracica che è stata fatto per un gatto finirà in un uccello, o un uccello si trasformerà in un cane lungo la strada. Fa tutto parte del processo, e mi godo le occasionali “palle curve”.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Gli animali sono le mie muse, sia che si stia osservando animali vivi,  guardare documentari sulla natura, o guardando le foto e le rappresentazioni di animali di altri artisti. Mi affascina vedere il modo in cui le cose sono messe insieme. Spendo un sacco di tempo a studiare anatomia e ammirando la complessità e la perfezione dell’architettura scheletrica. Mi piace anche vedere il modo in cui le cose non viventi sono costruite, in particolare i meccanismi dal 18 ° del 19 ° secolo.

Guardando il mondo o è solo qualcosa dentro di te?

Guardando il mondo dentro di me, e costruire in modo che altri lo possano vedere.

Quali sono le tue  preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?

E’ come se ogni giorno trovassi nuovi artisti di cui essere entusiasta. Sono sempre alla ricerca di cose nuove e meravigliose. Tutto ciò che filtra verso il basso in uno stufato bollente di immagini e può eventualmente essere riconfigurato per soddisfare il mio mondo. Ogni istanza è diversa, e ogni scultura ha la sua propria storia. Ad esempio, i miei Bucerotidi Alonia e Almeria sono stati ispirati dalla pittura mio amico Chris Conn Askew di La Croix Rouge. Volevo disperatamente comprare quel pezzo, ma mi è sfuggito, così ho deciso di fare un bucerotide io stessa come una sorta di ricordo. Il nastro rosso con un cameo nel suo dipinto è stato riconvertito in un nastro di velluto e muschio con un emblema leoneino in ottone, che mi è stato dato da un altro artista straordinariamente ispirato, Kris Kuksi. Spesso mi trovo a dare indizi segreti degli artisti che ammiro, a volte nei nomi delle mie creature, come Gustav (Klimt), Helmut (Newton) o (Toulouse) Lautrec.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

Il tentativo di miscelare il perfetto Manhattan.

One thought on “Jessica Joslin

  1. Pingback: Esther Verschoor | TAZ - The ArtZine

Rispondi

