Hannah Ward

How do you approach to the job?  
I don’t feel like I ever approach my artwork as a job. I view it as a compulsion. My ideas are spontaneous, though most of my processes are tedious. I usually dive into working with very little sketching, but a great deal of visual research. I see my work as a means of processing my own environment. It is how I both understand and question complex issues without dwelling upon them beforehand.
 
Are you always satisfied with the final result? If not, what do you do?
 
Very rarely
I find the act of creating far more satisfying than the end result. I feel that all work should cause the artist to question decisions they could have made. I try to use any of this frustration as fuel for my future work.

 
Where do you find the inspiration? 
My inspiration is a combination of both source materials and sensory experiences. My imagery and mark-making derive from dream imagery, memories, taxidermy practices, scientific studies, life drawings, and photo documentation. The inspirations that fuel my concepts are less concrete; I am inspired by the people I surround myself with, by conversations, by film and philosophy, by situations that I find emotional but am unable to articulate.
 
Do you feel you are seeing the world or is just something inside of you?
 
I think it’s a bit of both. It is my interpretation of my observations.
 
What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?
 
I feel like I mostly influenced by my own surroundings and finding ways to reinterpret visuals that are not traditionally artistic. In terms of artistic preference, I am attracted to work with visceral qualities and themes that cause more questions than answers. I’m very interested in the women of the surrealist movement, especially Toyen, Dorothea Tanning, Leonor Fini, Leonora Carrington, and Meret Oppenheim
 
What’s your hobby?
 
Playing viola and electric violin, jogging, hiking, watching films, spending time with friends, cooking, drinking coffee, listening to music
TRADUZIONE
Come ti approcci al lavoro?
Non mi sento come se dovessi avvicinarmi all’opera come ad un lavoro. La vedo più come una compulsione. Le mie idee sono spontanee, sebbene la maggior parte dei miei processi siano noiosi. Io di solito mi immergo nel mondo del lavoro, con pochissimi schizzi, ma una grande quantità di ricerca visiva. Vedo il mio lavoro come un mezzo per elaborare il mio ambiente. E’ come se iomprendessi e mettessi in discussione questioni complesse senza soffermarsi su di loro in anticipo.
 
Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale? In caso contrario, cosa fai?
 
Molto raramente.Trovo l’atto di creazione di gran lunga più soddisfacente del risultato finale. Credo che tutto il lavoro dovrebbe causare l’artista a mettere in discussione le decisioni che avrebbe potuto fare. Cerco di usare una qualsiasi di queste frustrazioni come combustibile per il mio futuro lavoro.
 
Dove trovi l’ispirazione?
La mia ispirazione è una combinazione di entrambi i materiali di base ed esperienze sensoriali. Il mio immaginario e mark-making derivano da immagini oniriche, ricordi, le pratiche di tassidermia, studi scientifici, disegni di vita, e documentazione fotografica. 
Le ispirazioni che alimentano i miei concetti sono meno concrete; sono ispirata dalle persone che mi circondano, dalle conversazioni, dal cinema e dalla filosofia, da situazioni che trovo emotive, ma che non riesco ad articolare.
 
Guardando il mondo o è qualcosa dentro di te?
 
Penso che sia un po ‘di entrambi. 
E’ la mia interpretazione delle mie osservazioni.
 
Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e come ti influenzano?
 
Mi sento in gran parte influenzata da ciò che mi circonda e dal cercare modi per reinterpretare immagini che non sono tradizionalmente artistiche. In termini di preferenza artistica, sono attratta dal lavorare visceralmente su temi che provocano più domande che risposte. Sono molto interessata alle donne del movimento surrealista, soprattutto Toyen, Dorothea Tanning, Leonor Fini, Leonora Carrington, e Meret Oppenheim
 
Qual è il tuo hobby?
Suono la viola e il violino elettrico, faccio jogging, escursioni a piedi, guardo film, passo il tempo con gli amici, cucino, bevo caffè, ascolto musica
 
Rispondi

