Leila Ataya

How do you approach to the job?
 
I start with ideas that pop up in my head, then I make quick sketches in my work-book, next I select the one I want to carry on with and sketch it out with pencil on paper or sometimes watercolour and then I continue on the board with acrylics.
Are you always satisfied with the final result? 
If not, what do you do?
 
No it’s hard to be always satisfied with what you do, sometimes I finish the painting and I don’t like it but after some time I may feel better about it or sometimes the other way around. 
I have sanded down some works that I really disliked in the past.
Where do you find the inspiration?
 
Things that are around me inspire me the most, it can be anything from a shadow on some lace to a backlight on a face of an actress in the movie. 
I also get inspired my different moods, stories and situations.
Seeing at the world or is just something inside of you?
 
I think it’s the world that is going through me on to my paintings and I am like a prism or a filter selecting and altering it.
What are your artistic preferences and how do they influence you?
 
I like Pop Surrealism, Surrealism, Photography and many other things in general. I can’t say that there are any particular artists that had a direct influences on my work. 
What’s your hobby?
 
Art is my way of living it’s my work my hobby even my dreams at night I don’t really have much time for other things. 
 
 
Traduzione
 
 
 
Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Comincio con le idee che compaiono nella mia testa, poi faccio schizzi veloci nel mio blocco, dopodichè scelgo quello che voglio portare avanti con uno schizzo amatita su carta o, talvolta, acquerello e poi proseguo sulla tavola con gli acrilici.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale?
In caso contrario, cosa fai?

No, è difficile essere sempre soddisfatta di quello che fai, a volte ho finito il dipinto e non mi piace, ma dopo qualche tempo potrei stare meglio riguardo ad esso o, a volte il contrario.
Ho carteggiato alcune opere che ho davvero avuto in antipatia in passato.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?

Le cose che sono intorno a me mi ispirano di più, può trattarsi di qualsiasi cosa, da un’ombra su qualche pizzo a una retroilluminazione sul volto di un attrice nel film.
Mi ispirano anche i miei diversi stati d’animo, storie e situazioni.

Guardando il mondo o è qualcosa dentro di te?

Penso che sia il mondo che mi attraversa e si deposita sui miei quadri e io sono come un prisma o un filtro che seleziona ed altera.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e non e come ti influenzano?

Mi piace il Surrealismo Pop, il Surrealismo, la fotografia e molte altre cose in generale. Non posso dire che ci siano particolari artisti che hanno avuto un influsso diretto sul mio lavoro.

Qual è il tuo hobby?

L’arte è il mio modo di vivere, è il mio lavoro, il mio hobby anche i miei sogni, di notte non ho molto tempo per altre cose.

 
 
 
Leila personal show coming up in Rome at Dorothy Circus Gallery it’s called Secrets from the Hour Glass and it opens on 14th of April

Rispondi

