Carisa Swenson

How do you approach to the job?

An image or idea for a doll often pops into my brain when I’m nowhere near my work table…hopefully I have a scrap of paper or my sketchbook with me so I can write or sketch the idea. 
From there, I just begin sculpting, and go with where the piece wants to take me.

Are you always satisfied with the final result? if not, what do you do?

More often than not, no. Usually my vision or idea for a doll is grander and more cohesive then the final. However, I have learned that it’s easier to accept and work with the flaws in my art rather then worry about how far from the original vision the piece is…rather like dealing with oneself or others.

Where do you find the inspiration? 

Within nature…. forests, the unselfconsciousness of animals and the magnificence of birds. Abandoned buildings, music and mythological tales hold inspiration for me as well.

Seeing at the world or is just something inside of you?

I have always, and continue to, spend a great deal of time deep within myself and draw from there.

What are your artistic preferences and and how do they influence you?

Right now I’m enjoying the contemporary art that is being created within the new brow/low brow/surrealist genre. Being connected via social networking and getting to view new works by these type of artists generates a wonderful energy. I also have a love of Art Noveau that speaks to me with its fluid line work and emphasis on nature.

What’s your hobby?

Cooking (not sure if that’s a hobby, but I certainly enjoy it!) Bird watching, playing video games and wandering around bookstores or museums help me to relax and bring me immense joy.

TRADUZIONE:

Come ti approcci al lavoro?
 
Un’immagine o un’idea di una bambola appare spesso nella mia mente quando sono in posti lontani dal mio tavolo di lavoro cerco di avere sempre un pezzo di carta o il mio sketchbook con me, così posso scrivere o disegnare l’idea.  
Da lì, devo solo iniziare la scultura, e andare dove il “pezzo” vuole portarmi.

Sei sempre soddisfatta del risultato finale?  
Se no, cosa fai?

Spesso no, no.  
Di solito la mia visione o idea di una bambola è più grande e più coesa del risultato finale.  

Tuttavia, ho imparato che è più facile accettare e lavorare con i difetti nella mia arte piuttosto che preoccuparsi di quanto lontano dalla visione originale il pezzo è un po’ come si fa con se stessi o gli altri.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?
 
Nella natura . le foreste, la disinvoltura degli animali e la magnificenza degli uccelli. Edifici abbandonati, musica e racconti mitologici sono,
per me, ispirazione.

Guardando il mondo o è qualcosa dentro di te?
 
Ho sempre sondato, e continuo a spendere molto tempo in profondità dentro di me e traggo da lì.

Quali sono le sue preferenze artistiche e non e come ti influenzano?
 

In questo momento mi sto godendo l’arte contemporanea che si sta creando all’interno del nuovo fronte del genere surrealista (Lowbrow Art). Essere collegati tramite il social networking ed arrivare a vedere nuove opere di questo tipo di artisti genera una meravigliosa energia.  
Ho anche un amore per l’Art Nouveau, che mi parla con la sua linea di lavoro fluido e l’enfasi sulla natura.

Qual è il tuo hobby?  

Cucinare (non so se questo è un hobby, ma certamente mi fa godere!) Bird watching, giocare ai videogiochi e vagare nelle librerie o nei musei mi aiutano a rilassarsi e portami gioia immensa.

Rispondi

