Archer Dougherty

How do you approach to the job?


Most days I wake up, take my dogs for a long walk to get my brain going, come home and make a pot of tea and sit down to work. 
Some days it comes, some days I struggle. 
But I always have to have something to drink 🙂


Are you always satisfied with the final result? 
If not, what do you do?


No, of course not. 
Sometimes right when a piece is finished I’m already thinking on the next one, and how I can improve upon what I’ve done. 
Sometimes I’ll try and let a piece sit, and I’ll rework it, but most of the time when an idea’s left my system – with or without a satisfactory result – I will have no qualms about moving on to the next concept.



Where do you find the inspiration?
Seeing at the world or is just something inside of you?


I find my inspiration in other contemporary artists, nature, dreams. 
Childhood memories. Many things, most of which are dictated by an internal imagery, or a relationship to an idea or a theme. 
My work is very internalized – I take things that seem to fit what characters I choose to paint, and alter everything accordingly so it creates a seamless whole.


What are your artistic preferences and and how do they influence you?


Well, I prefer to draw. I begin with a full grayscale value underdrawing, which is where the compositional discovery happens. 
I’m very AR about my drawings, and they always tend to be pretty clean and precise. The painting that happens over the drawing, as a result, is also very clean. 
I admire artists that can work in a painterly, sketchy style, because I’ve never been able to do that. 
But I’ve come to terms with my own way of working. 
If I tried to work differently, it wouldn’t be mine.


What’s your hobby?


I love to read. But as an artistic hobby, I love to do stained glass. 
It’s very different from my artwork but I find that absolutely necessary 🙂 And I love playing with my dogs. 




 TRADUZIONE                                                                       


Come ti approcci al lavoro?

Quasi tutti i giorni mi sveglio, porto i miei cani a fare una lunga passeggiata per mettere in moto il mio cervello, torno a casa, mi faccio una tazza di tè e mi metto al lavoro.
Alcuni giorni viene subito, qualche giorno lotto.
Ma devo sempre avere qualcosa da bere🙂
 




Sei sempre soddisfatto del risultato finale?
Se no, cosa fai?

No, certo che no.
A volte, proprio quando un pezzo è finito sto già pensando al prossimo, e a come posso migliorare quello che ho fatto.
Qualche volta cerco di lasciare in pace pezzo, e di rielaborarlo, ma la maggior parte del tempo in cui un’idea lascia il mio sistema – con o senza un risultato soddisfacente non avrò remore a passare al concetto successivo.

Dove trovi l’ispirazione?
Guardando al mondo o è qualcosa dentro di te?

Trovo la mia ispirazione in altri artisti contemporanei, la natura, i sogni.
Ricordi d’infanzia. Molte cose, molte delle quali sono dettate da un immaginario interno, o in relazione a un’idea o un tema.
Il mio lavoro è molto interiorizzato prendo le cose che sembrano adattarsi ai
personaggi che ho scelto di dipingere, e modifico di conseguenza così da creare un tutto indissociabile.

Quali sono le tue preferenze artistiche e e come si influenzano?

Beh, preferisco disegnare. Comincio con un disegno preparatorio a pieno valore di scala di grigi, che è come la scoperta compositiva prende forma.
Sono molto esigente circa i miei disegni, e tendo sempre a essere molto pulita e precisa. Il dipinto che viene sul disegno, di conseguenza, è anch’esso molto pulito.
Ammiro gli artisti che possono lavorare in un pittorico stile abbozzato, perché non sono mai stata in grado di farlo.
Ma sono venuta a patti con il mio modo di lavorare.
Se avessi cercato di lavorare diversamente, non sarebbe stato mio.

Qual è il tuo hobby? 


Amo leggere.  
Ma come hobby artistico, mi piace fare vetrate. 
E’ molto diverso dai miei disegni, ma trovo che sia assolutamente necessario :)  
E amo giocare con i miei cani.

http://www.archerartworks.com

Rispondi

